Review: Milky Foot vs Baby Foot

milkyfoot-vs-babyfoot

I hate feet. I hate my feet. I hate feet so much, I don’t even like shoe shopping. Actually, I hate it as much as feet.


I shouldn’t hate my feet. They do exactly what I want them to do even after all the crap I put them through without giving them any sort of love back. They’re just aaaall the way down there, doing their thing. I don’t really look after them unless I injure my ankle or get blisters then I miss how perfect they were and had now taken them for granted.

Well, I decided I’m going to give some love back to my feet, and it started thanks to a YouTube spiral into Baby Foot. Like every great YouTube spiral into darkness, I have no idea how I ended up watching people peel away layers of calloused skin from their heels, but I do remember the next morning. Ah yes, the next morning as I rolled over in bed, my heel brushed over my nice, soft sheet.. yet the built-up, dead skin dragged over said sheet. I shuddered and promptly flung my leg over the side of the bed, flailing sleepily at the feeling. Have you ever felt jagged, dead skin brush over fabric? A MICROFIBER CLOTH?

Then you know why I am doing this.

You’re probably wondering why I’m doing two. While the very popular Japanese-made Baby Foot is highly reviewed online, I did want to try Milky Foot as it’s advertised heavily over here in Oz.
Are the ingredients the same? Is one more effective than the other? Well, there’s really only one way to find out.

The Ingredients

baby-foot-ingredients

Ingredients in Baby Foot.

Baby Foot ingredients do look daunting at first, but only because it is packed with plenty of flower and plant extracts, like (but not limited to) burdock, lemongrass and watercress. It also includes arginine, an amino acid as well as two different preservatives and an antifungal preservative (o-cymen-5-OL). I was surprised to find sodium phosphate, a food additive in it (I hope you don’t get hungry while doing this) as well as perfume so high up on the ingredients list, it’s not necessary – especially since there’s limonene (the natural scent from lemons) already there.

milky-foot-ingredients

Ingredients in Milky Foot.

Milky Foot’s ingredients are a lot easier to identify and more simple. Like Baby Foot, Milky Foot has lactic, fruit and glycolic acids (an AHA, or Alpha Hydroxy Acid) – including their most advertised ingredient, mandelic acid, an AHA from bitter almonds. It also includes thickening/gelling agents, flower and plant extracts, as well as conditioning agents such as butylene glycol and trusty ole aloe to keep your skin happy. Milky Foot has mint, which you do feel when it’s on.. but more on that in a second!

The Prep

Both the Milky and Baby Foot recommend that you shouldn’t use the product if you’re pregnant, diabetic or have any cuts/wounds on your feet. Since the latter is the only one I personally need to worry about, I give my feet the once-over as I’m not fond of making sores worse (the natural acids, like any acid, can start eating at the skin around a cut, leading to scarring, or just make it sting like hell). My feet – for the most part – are great.
Milky Foot actually suggests you have your nails free from any polishes and skin free of tan, which makes complete sense; you want fresh, clean skin so the ingredients can work at their best.

Business Time

babyfoot-milkyfoot-insta

A photo of my fugly, cold, penguin-looking feet, which you can see on Instagram!

After a soak and double-checking that my feet are nice and dry, it’s time to shut up n’ sock up.
A couple of things to note though:

1. Put socks on. It keeps the product ‘socks’ tight to the skin and doesn’t slide around (especially when you need to walk to sit down).
2. Speaking of – don’t move around! Sit down and stay seated if you can until the hour is up.
3. As the Baby Foot is a bigger sock the additional sticky tabs really do help. Milky Foot is smaller but has a tab built in.
4. I found the Milky Foot had a more cooling sensation (there’s that mint!) that lasted after I had washed the gel off. Any cooling sensation is completely normal but if it starts to feel warm going into hot or any other sensation, remove the sock and wash the gel off immediately.
5. It’s essential that you don’t leave the product on for longer than the recommended time. Yeah, you might have heard of some other v/bloggers going over an hour but just don’t. One hour is a generous amount of time for the acids to work.

There we go! We have some days for it to work it’s peeling magic, so I’ll keep you posted in part 2!

Leave a Reply

